Red Poppy. What’s it got to do with me?

.Awarded the Victoria Cross, Britain’s highest award for bravery

Private Johnson Gideon Beharry, awarded the Victoria Cross, Britain’s highest award for bravery

As a child and adult on Remembrance Day, I’ve always been told or encouraged to “Wear a poppy to remember what those, who died and fought for our freedom gave and sacrificed”.    This, like a mantra, each November, was repeated over and over and I never really understood or could connect the images that were displayed on the television, through war films and comedy series, on billboard posters or books in the school’s World War History lesson, of “someone else’s story”.  A story which I felt excluded from.

In the late 1990’s I became an avid visitor to the local library.  To me it became a treasure of information and my library card became my most valued possession!  It was here that I came across a book which was to provide the pictures, connection, answers and information for me in order to hold “Remembrance day” as something that is part of mine, my grandparents and future generation’s story.   This book was/is called, “We were there”.  A publication based on the Ministry of Defences exhibition of the same name.

So, it is with great reverence and respect, that I include the link to the following website for your own exploration:

“We Were There” Exhibition

Prosperity X

Published in: on November 8, 2009 at 7:59 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prosperityx.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/red-poppy-what%e2%80%99s-it-got-to-do-with-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for these truly excellent links. I’ll be sharing them with my students and you will have done them a great service!
    Evelyn in Montreal

  2. Thank You Evelyn. I’m glad that people will get the opportunity to make use of them.

    Keep spreading the word!


Leave a Reply

