One Persons’ Rubbish…

046/365 – Trash or Treasure?, originally uploaded by ( lindsey ).

I’ve been feeling really unworthy to write a post for my blog

“I don’t think anyone will read it and even if they do, I think that they’ll think it’s rubbish” have been the thoughts going around in my mind.

This has been my struggle. Thinking that I’ve got nothing worth saying.

It was only yesterday that I attended a course, in which I noticed that upon sharing our responses to certain questions, other people picked up on different aspects of what had been said. A couple of times, things that I’d mentioned on a passing note, had been commented on as having touched or triggered something in another, or some fleeting comment from someone else, had began a long lasting train of thought in my own mind.

That’s when I remembered the saying that , “One persons’ rubbish is another’s treasure”. That what could hold little value for one, might be of great value to another.

So after spending over a month thinking that I had nothing of value to say, here I am, writing about this realization, sharing it, as I’m sure I’m not be the only person in the world who has ever felt this.

Funnily enough, in all the years of “teaching” and facilitating different personal development groups, I’ve always found that what makes the most difference is people’s realization that they’re not the only one who feels or thinks “that way”, or who has difficulty in a particular area of life. The connections made within the group bring about the greatest transformations, and that’s often one of acceptance, more than change. For me, it’s always a joy and honour to behold.

Now, as I prepare to post this, I feel secure in the knowledge that I’ve fulfilled my commitment to myself to continue exploring the blogging journey I began in October and that just maybe, someone “out there” will find what I’ve written of use to them in their life.

(c) Prosperity X

Published in: on March 26, 2010 at 4:48 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prosperityx.wordpress.com/2010/03/26/one-persons-rubbish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think it’s a great post. It makes me think of a little plastic piece of a model car seat I have in my jewelry box. It’s been in that box for years. A neighbor boy had been playing with my brother and they smashed their cars together in a mock crash-up. The piece broke off the car the neighbor had been holding and landed in grass off the sidewalk. I walked by and picked up that piece of plastic, put it in my pocket and then in my jewelry box, where it’s been ever since. Whenever I see it I’m taken back to the years of my first crush when I was a little girl. That piece of plastic is more precious to me than anything money can buy. It belongs in the jewelry box.

    • Thanks for replying and sharing your story. I’m glad the post touched on pleasant memories for you.


Leave a Reply

