Let me “Upgrade” me!

Reading in the round, originally uploaded by Let Ideas Compete.

I think “Self Help” books are a great thing, as long as I remember that they’re only books and aren’t going to change me or my life for me.

I’ve been reading various “Self Help” books for over a decade, from ones that tell me how to have better and more harmonious relationships, or ones that direct me to get in touch with my “inner self”, to books that  teach me how to create  financial wealth. I’ve read a whole array of them and am still constantly amazed at just how many new ones there are still out there!

There is some controversy around them though, that some people believe that the whole “Self Help” Movement has made people “Helpless” and has done more harm than good.

I look at it this way, I read the books which catch my eye and apply the ideas and techniques which I think may benefit me. If they work for me, I put them in my “Life Skills Toolbox” to use them with the next thing that Life throws at me (as long as I remeber I’ve got them!).  What I don’t find of benefit, I simply discard.

For me, reading “Self Help” books, as well as attending trainings and courses throughout the years has helped not only give me ideas and tools to use when life throws me a curve ball, but helped me develop some of my own strategies I use at different times.

So now many things that happen which used to, “Floor me”, don’t. I utilize the skills I’ve learnt and either work around what’s happened or recover more quickly.

I’m still me, but an “upgraded” version! And aside from this, on the whole, I enjoy my life even more now, which in itself makes all the reading and sometimes feeling silly when trying out new things, worthwhile.

(c) Prosperity X

Published in: on May 1, 2010 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prosperityx.wordpress.com/2010/05/01/let-me-%e2%80%9cupgrade%e2%80%9d-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

