How…… Part 2



… on Earth did I miss that?!

Recently speaking with a woman, I’d just met at a “meet up” group, we got onto the subject of “The Law of Attraction”, which sparked a lively debate about how we create our own reality. This reminded me of the psychology experiment.

The first time I came across it, I didn’t see the Gorilla either!!!

Even though I was aware of the theory behind it, I was surprised that I, who thinks of myself as “very observant” and “highly perceptive”, completely missed it!

It got me thinking about “Goal setting”. That well mentioned tool, used in business and general life, to get the job/task done. Whether they’re S.M.A.R.T. or otherwise, I wonder about the pros and cons of focusing, so exclusively, on what you want.

On one hand, I’ve found that when I’m exceptionally focused, I get things done and things that would normally distract, don’t seem to bother me at all. But with all this super pin-point focus, just as doing the experiment illustrated, I think I may have missed out on some really important things.

On the other hand, there have been times in my life, when I’ve been open to whatever happens, often with interesting results and really welcomed opportunities popping up that I wouldn’t have consciously searched for. But being too open has had its drawbacks, when I been so “open” that I’ve ended up “drifting aimlessly”, lost, without a sense of purpose or direction.

I wonder if there’s a way to have the benefits of both. Of being able to be focused enough on what I want to achieve, that I’m not distracted, but also have my perception “open” enough to see other things and opportunities. A way to be “Openly focused”, if there is such a thing, so that I don’t miss something so blinking obvious and wonder, “How on earth did I manage to miss that?”

(C) Prosperity x

Published in: on July 6, 2010 at 7:04 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prosperityx.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/how-on-earth-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

